Olympic Water Sports

During the Olympics, water sports are often part of the major events. There are many water sports but not all of them are included in the Olympics. Some are included only in specific editions of the competition while others form part of the core events. Existing and new Olympic water sports include:

1. Canoeing

Canoeing is a water sport that has been contested in the Summer Olympics since 1936. In this sport, there are two kinds of boats used. One is the canoe which has one or two canoeists and the kayaks which can accommodate one, two or four kayakers. The water sport has two disciplines namely the sprint and the slalom.

2. Diving

Diving is one of the oldest water sports. It was officially introduced in the Olympics in 1904. The International Swimming Federation regulates this water sport. It attracts great viewership due to its very daring nature.

3 Swimming

Swimming is a racing water sport that can be participated individually or as a team. Competitors show their prowess in powering their body through the water. There are various swimming styles that use different body parts. In each category, competitors have to use the body part spelt out in the rules to propel themselves, otherwise, they get disqualified. FINA governs this ancient water sport which became an Olympic sport in 1896.

4. Sailing

Sailing is a popular water sport that is also known as yachting. It is an old Olympic water sport which has been present in the Summer Olympic Games since 1896 but was on one occasion not contested due to bad weather. Up to date, sailing has been there in each edition apart from the 1904 Olympics.

5. Water Motorsports

The water motorsport is an Olympic game that has been played since 1908. In all the Summer Olympics editions, water motorsport has been held in Southampton waters. The sport involves racing of motorised boats.

6. Surfing

Surfing is a new water Olympic sport that will be contested for the first time in the 2020 Summer Olympics. The International Surfing Association is the sport’s governing body. There will be both men’s and women’s categories.